Djokovic Wins Third Straight Australian Open

World No. 1 Novak Djokovic of Serbia beat Briton Andy Murray in four sets on January 27 to win his third consecutive Australian Open men’s title.

Djokovic won 6-7 (2-7), 7-6 (7-3), 6-3, 6-2.

It was his fourth Australian Open win overall and his sixth Grand Slam win.

In the women’s final on January 26, Belarusian star and No. 1 ranked Victoria Azarenka defeated China’s Li Na in a dramatic three-set final.

There was a minor scandal after it came to light that the trophy that was given to Azarenka after the match was inscribed with the letters BEL to represent her country.

But BEL is the official abbreviation for Belgium, while the short form for Belarus is BLR.

Share Article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *