Niš

Une des plus anciennes villes dans les Balkans

Avec environ 250,000 résidents, Niš est la troisième plus grande en Serbie et la capitale du district de Nišava. Il est situé dans le sud de la Serbie, à la croisée des routes des Balkans et européens les plus importants reliant l'Europe au Moyen-Orient.

La passerelle entre l'Orient et l'Occident

Niš est une ville qui se trouve sur la rivière Nišava et sert culturel, économique, commercial et extrêmement important régionale, administrative, universitaire de la Serbie du sud-est.

Situé dans la vallée de Niš à une altitude moyenne de 192 mètres, à l'embouchure de la rivière Nišava et à la rivière Morava-Sud, Niš couvre une étendue d'environ 600 kilomètres carrés. Il est entouré de magnifiques chaînes de montagnes telles que la montagne de Suva, les montagnes de Svrljig et la Seličevica.

En raison de sa position géographique particulière, à travers l'histoire, Niš a été connu sous le nom «La passerelle entre l'Orient et l'Occident». En conséquence, la ville a souvent été la cible d'invasions militaires, dont l'impact se reflète dans les nombreux monuments historiques.

Il est une ancienne ville romaine

L'ancienne ville romaine, Naissus, ce qui a probablement réussi une colonie celte, a été mentionnée comme une place importante dans le 2nd siècle par Ptolémée, dans son Guide sur la géographie. L'ancienne forteresse sur la rive droite de la rivière est censé avoir été construit sur ce site. Sous ses murs, en 269 AD, l'empereur Claude II a vaincu une armée des Goths. Niš est le lieu de naissance Constantin le Grand (C. 280). Pendant les migrations des Huns dans le 5th siècle, la ville a été détruite, et les Bulgares conquis dans le 9th siècle, mais a cédé dans le 11th siècle pour les Hongrois, dont l'empereur byzantin a pris en 1173. Vers la fin du 12th siècle, la ville est venu sous la dynastie serbe Nemanja, mais en 1375 les Turcs a capturé des Serbes.

Niš a été récupéré brièvement à plusieurs reprises, mais la domination turque a duré 500 ans, et la ville est devenue une station importante sur la route d'Istanbul en Hongrie. Dans le premier soulèvement serbe (1809), les Serbes ont tiré leur poudrière et eux-mêmes et un grand nombre de l'ennemi détruit; dans les ruines de la Turquie construit Ćele Kula (Tour des crânes) sont intégrés les crânes de plus de 900 des Serbes qui sont tombés à la bataille de Čegar. L'armée serbe a libéré Niš en 1877, et la ville fut cédée à eux par le traité de Berlin (1878). Dans la Première Guerre mondiale, Niš était pour une période capitale de la Serbie.

Les attractions culturelles et historiques

Les attractions culturelles et historiques les plus importants de Niš sont les Médiane - Un grand 4th siècle de domaine romain; Niš Fortress - La forteresse turque mieux préservée dans les Balkans centraux, construite en 1723 et contenant les restes de Roman Naissus dans ses fondements; la Skull Tour (Ćele Kula); Čegar, Où un monument se dresse sur le site de la bataille entre Stevan Sinđelić et les Turcs; til Monument aux Libérateurs de Niš - Érigée en 1937 dans la mémoire de la lutte pour la libération de Niš; la Croix-Rouge Camp - Un camp de concentration nazi; et Bubanj Memorial Park - L'un des plus grands sites d'exécution de la Seconde Guerre mondiale en Serbie.

Activités près de Niš

sites de pique-nique dans les environs de Niš comprennent la gorge Sićevačka Klisura - Une caractéristique naturelle 16 km de long protégée avec des plantes et des animaux rares; la gorge Jelašnička Klisura - Une réserve naturelle 2 km de long spéciale avec des cascades et des plantes et des animaux rares; la Bojanine Vode Station de vacances; Kamenički Vis - Un séjour station avec des installations de sports d'hiver; et Cerjanska Pecina grotte, 4 km de long, avec des chambres spacieuses joliment décorées dans des formations de grottes (stalagmites, stalactites, etc.).

Niš

Category:

One of the oldest cities in the Balkans

With around 250,000 residents, Niš is the third largest in Serbia and the capital of the Nišava District. It is located in southern Serbia, at the crossroads of the most important Balkan and European routes connecting Europe with the Middle East.

The Gateway between the East and the West

Niš is a city which lies on the Nišava river, and serves as an extremely important regional, administrative, cultural, economic, business and university center of the southeastern Serbia.

Situated in the Niš Valley at an average altitude of 192 metres, at the mouth of the Nišava River into the South Morava River, Niš covers the range of approximately 600 square kilometres.  It is surrounded by magnificent mountain ranges such as the Suva Mountain, the Svrljig Mountains and the Seličevica.

Due to its peculiar geographic position, throughout history, Niš has been known as ‘The Gateway between the East and the West’. Consequently, the city has often been a target of military invasions, whose impact is reflected in the numerous historical monuments.

It is an ancient Roman city

The ancient Roman city, Naissus, which probably succeeded a Celtic settlement, was mentioned as an important place in the 2nd century by Ptolemy, in his Guide to Geography. The old fortress on the right bank of the river is believed to have been built on this site. Under its walls, in 269 A.D., the emperor Claudius II defeated an army of the Goths. Niš is the birthplace of Constantine the Great (c. 280). During migrations of the Huns in the 5th century, the town was destroyed, and the Bulgarians conquered it in the 9th century but ceded it in the 11th century to the Hungarians, from whom the Byzantine emperor took it in 1173. Toward the end of the 12th century, the town came under the Serbian Nemanja dynasty, but in 1375 the Turks captured it from the Serbs.

Niš was recovered briefly several times, but Turkish domination lasted for 500 years, and the town became an important station on the route from Istanbul to Hungary. In the first Serbian uprising (1809), the Serbs fired their powder magazine and destroyed themselves and a large number of the enemy; in the ruins of the Turkish-built Ćele Kula (Tower of Skulls) are embedded the skulls of more than 900 of the Serbs who fell at the Battle of Čegar. The Serbian army liberated Niš in 1877, and the town was ceded to them by the Treaty of Berlin (1878). In World War I, Niš was for a period the capital of Serbia.

Cultural and historical attractions

The most important cultural and historical attractions in Niš are the Mediana – a large 4th-century Roman estate; Niš Fortress – the best-preserved Turkish fortress in the central Balkans, built in 1723 and containing the remains of Roman Naissus in its foundations; the Skull Tower (Ćele Kula); Čegar, where a monument stands on the site of the battle between Stevan Sinđelić and the Turks; the Monument to the Liberators of Niš – erected in 1937 in memory of the fight for the liberation of Niš; the Red Cross Camp – a Nazi concentration camp; and Bubanj Memorial Park – one of the largest Second World War execution sites in Serbia.

Attractions near Niš

Picnic sites in the surroundings of Niš include the Sićevačka Klisura gorge – a 16 km-long protected natural feature with rare plants and animals; the Jelašnička Klisura gorge – a special 2 km-long nature reserve with waterfalls and rare plants and animals; the Bojanine Vode holiday resort; Kamenički Vis – a holiday resort with winter sports facilities; and Cerjanska Pećina cave, 4 km long, with spacious chambers beautifully decorated in cave formations (stalagmites, stalactites, etc.).