Один из старейших городов на Балканах

С около 250,000 жителей, Ниш является третьим по величине в Сербии и столицей Нишава района. Он расположен в южной части Сербии, на перекрестке важнейших балканских и европейских маршрутов, соединяющих Европу с Ближнего Востока.

Шлюз между Востоком и Западом

Ниша это город, который расположен на реке Нишава, и служит чрезвычайно важной региональной, административной, культурной, экономической, деловой и университетский центр на юго-востоке Сербии.

Расположенный в долине Ниш на средней высоте 192 метров, в устье реки Нишава в реку Южная Морава, Ниш занимает площадь около 600 квадратных километров. Он окружен великолепными горными хребтами, такими как гора Сува, горы Сврлиг и Селичевица.

Благодаря своему географическому положению своеобразной, на протяжении всей истории, Ниш был известен как "Ворота между Востоком и Западом». Следовательно, город часто был мишенью военных вторжений, воздействие которых находит свое отражение в многочисленных исторических памятников.

Это древний римский город

Древний римский город, Naissus, который, вероятно, удалось кельтского поселения, был упомянут в качестве важного места в 2nd веке Птолемей в своем Руководстве по географии. Старая крепость на правом берегу реки, как полагают, был построен на этом сайте. Под ее стенами, в 269 н.э., император Клавдий II разбил армию готами. Ниша является родиной Константин Великий (С. 280). Во время миграций гуннов в 5th веке, город был разрушен, а болгары завоевали его в 9th веке, но уступил его в 11th веке венграм, от которого византийский император взял его в 1173. Ближе к концу 12th века город попал под династии сербского Неманья, но в 1375 турки захватили его от сербов.

Ниш был на короткое время выздоровел несколько раз, но турецкое владычество длилось 500 лет, и город стал важной станцией на пути из Стамбула в Венгрии. В первом сербского восстания (1809), сербы выпустили свой порошок журнал и уничтожили себя и большое количество врагов; в руинах турецкой постройки CELÉ Кула (Башня черепов) встроены черепов более 900 сербов, павших в битве при Čegar. Сербская армия освободила Ниш в 1877, и город был передан им Берлинского договора (1878). Во время Первой мировой войны, Ниш был за период столицей Сербии.

Культурные и исторические достопримечательности

Наиболее важные культурные и исторические достопримечательности в Нише являются Медиана - Большой 4th века римской недвижимости; Ниша крепость - Наиболее сохранившийся турецкая крепость в центральных Балканах, построенная в 1723 и содержащих остатки римской Naissus в своих основах; Череп башня (CELÉ Кула); Čegar, Где памятник стоит на месте битвы между Синджелич и турками; Tон Памятник Освободителям Ниш - Возведен в 1937 в память о борьбе за освобождение Нише; Кросс лагерь Красного - Нацистский концентрационный лагерь; а также Мемориальный парк Bubanj - Один из крупнейших сайтов исполнения Второй мировой войны в Сербии.

Достопримечательности вблизи Ниш

Места для пикника в окрестностях Ниш включают Sićevačka Клисура Ущелье - Это 16-километровой охраняемой природной особенностью с редкими растениями и животными; Jelašnička Клисура Ущелье - Специальный 2-километровый заповедник с водопадами и редких видов растений и животных; Bojanine Vode курорт; Kamenički Vis - Праздник курорт с зимних видов спорта; а также Cerjanska Pecina пещера, 4 км, с просторными палатами красиво оформленных в пещерных образований (сталагмитов, сталактитов и т.д.).

Niš

Category:

One of the oldest cities in the Balkans

With around 250,000 residents, Niš is the third largest in Serbia and the capital of the Nišava District. It is located in southern Serbia, at the crossroads of the most important Balkan and European routes connecting Europe with the Middle East.

The Gateway between the East and the West

Niš is a city which lies on the Nišava river, and serves as an extremely important regional, administrative, cultural, economic, business and university center of the southeastern Serbia.

Situated in the Niš Valley at an average altitude of 192 metres, at the mouth of the Nišava River into the South Morava River, Niš covers the range of approximately 600 square kilometres.  It is surrounded by magnificent mountain ranges such as the Suva Mountain, the Svrljig Mountains and the Seličevica.

Due to its peculiar geographic position, throughout history, Niš has been known as ‘The Gateway between the East and the West’. Consequently, the city has often been a target of military invasions, whose impact is reflected in the numerous historical monuments.

It is an ancient Roman city

The ancient Roman city, Naissus, which probably succeeded a Celtic settlement, was mentioned as an important place in the 2nd century by Ptolemy, in his Guide to Geography. The old fortress on the right bank of the river is believed to have been built on this site. Under its walls, in 269 A.D., the emperor Claudius II defeated an army of the Goths. Niš is the birthplace of Constantine the Great (c. 280). During migrations of the Huns in the 5th century, the town was destroyed, and the Bulgarians conquered it in the 9th century but ceded it in the 11th century to the Hungarians, from whom the Byzantine emperor took it in 1173. Toward the end of the 12th century, the town came under the Serbian Nemanja dynasty, but in 1375 the Turks captured it from the Serbs.

Niš was recovered briefly several times, but Turkish domination lasted for 500 years, and the town became an important station on the route from Istanbul to Hungary. In the first Serbian uprising (1809), the Serbs fired their powder magazine and destroyed themselves and a large number of the enemy; in the ruins of the Turkish-built Ćele Kula (Tower of Skulls) are embedded the skulls of more than 900 of the Serbs who fell at the Battle of Čegar. The Serbian army liberated Niš in 1877, and the town was ceded to them by the Treaty of Berlin (1878). In World War I, Niš was for a period the capital of Serbia.

Cultural and historical attractions

The most important cultural and historical attractions in Niš are the Mediana – a large 4th-century Roman estate; Niš Fortress – the best-preserved Turkish fortress in the central Balkans, built in 1723 and containing the remains of Roman Naissus in its foundations; the Skull Tower (Ćele Kula); Čegar, where a monument stands on the site of the battle between Stevan Sinđelić and the Turks; the Monument to the Liberators of Niš – erected in 1937 in memory of the fight for the liberation of Niš; the Red Cross Camp – a Nazi concentration camp; and Bubanj Memorial Park – one of the largest Second World War execution sites in Serbia.

Attractions near Niš

Picnic sites in the surroundings of Niš include the Sićevačka Klisura gorge – a 16 km-long protected natural feature with rare plants and animals; the Jelašnička Klisura gorge – a special 2 km-long nature reserve with waterfalls and rare plants and animals; the Bojanine Vode holiday resort; Kamenički Vis – a holiday resort with winter sports facilities; and Cerjanska Pećina cave, 4 km long, with spacious chambers beautifully decorated in cave formations (stalagmites, stalactites, etc.).